Mother’s Day 2008

Well, happy Mother’s Day to all of you who are Mommies and are reading this! We celebrated today by going out to brunch after church at a yummy little place called Cappriccio’s. I also got an uninterrupted (kind of!) nap – in my bed – and an evening of no responsibility! I’ve decided that Mother’s Day is my favorite day of the year!

Here are a few pics of the the girls and me today at lunch:

So I asked the girls a few questions this evening…trying to get their take on what being a mommy is all about. Here is ‘Mommy-hood in a nutshell’ by Ashton (5 yrs.), Libbie (6 yrs.), and McKenna (7 yrs).

Mommy asks, “What does a mommy do?”
The girls reply, “A mommy cleans the house, takes care of her children, keeps her children healthy and makes them strong, she cooks, and sings to them at night before they go to sleep.”

Mommy asks, “What have you learned from Mommy (a very scary question!)?”
The girls say, “I’ve learned how to do the dishes, read the Bible and memorize verses. She’s taught me all about my school stuff and how to read.”

Mommy asks, “What makes a good mommy?”
The girls answer, “A good mommy has to be kind to her kids. She remembers to pray and helps her children learn about lots of different things. She gives her children lots and lots of love.”

Mommy asks, “What do you want to do when you are a mommy?”
Excitedly, the girls chatter, “I want to drive a car. I want to plant a garden with my kids. I will be kind to them and keep them safe. I will take them swimming!”

Thank you, Lord, for allowing me to be a Mother to 3 of Your precious children!

Leave a Reply

